drew's blog

Monday, February 15, 2010

SCAM: Domain Name Dispute

I received the following email, a quick Google told me it was just a scam that this Chinese registration company is using to scare me into registering domains with them. The contact information used to register domains is not supposed to be used for commercial purposes. I use a dedicated email address for domain registration, so I can tell when it is being spammed. Don't fall for this stuff.


----------------------------------------------------------
From: Tracy [mailto:Tracy@jsntwifi.com]
Sent: Saturday, January 30, 2010 1:02 AM
To: [my secret email address that I only use for registering domains]
Subject: Dispute From Domain

Dear Sir or Madam 2010-1-30
We are a domain name registration service organization in Asia,
Recently we received a formal application submited by Paul Martin who wanted to use the keyword "[my full name]" to register the Internet Brand and domain names with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. If you think that these domain names to be regisrated would produce possible dispute with you or effect your current business, you would contact us as soon as possible by Fax ,Telephone or Email in the next 5 working days.otherwise we have to approve his regisration application without your any reply.

Yours sincerely

Tracy
Checking Department
Tel: 86 513 8532 1087
Fax: 86 513 8532 2065
Email:Tracy@jsntwifi..com
Website: www.jsntwifi.com or www.jsntwifi.com.cn
Our File No.:2884349

Labels: , , ,